Just another stay at home mom's Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Shame on you, Miley Cyrus

Posted by justanotherstayathomemom on August 18, 2009

Why are you selling out? 

I watched the so called “pole dance” on youtube, and while she indeed does get on a cart and hold onto a pole, it is hardly a dance.  What is so disturbing to me is that she is only 16 and her shorts barely cover her ass, they are skin tight, and leave little to the imagination. (not that I am trying to imagine anything of hers, but you know what I mean)  Her target audience, the audience that has financed her thus far, is typically, let’s say around 10 ish?  I know I have frequently seen little girls, as young as 7 wearing their “Hannah Montana” wigs around the mall. 

The first time I really ever paid any attention to her was when she showed up on the front of People magazine without her wig and hardly any makeup.  I thought, wow, she’s cute, I wonder why they make her wear that horrible wig?  I stumbled upon her show, watched for a few minutes, and found out why she wore the aforementioned wig.  Now, I see her all over the place, mainly in skin tight pants, and too much eyeliner. 

You know she has a stalker?  Yep, and he is 53.  Gross.

Because, dear Miley, not everyone who is your fan is a teeny-bopper.  Many less than desirable men are watching you as well.  And shame on her parents for not teaching her some self-respect, because she is showing off far more skin than is necessary to sing a song.  Don’t give me that crap about she is young and pretty and just having fun….train up a child in the way they should go….

Where is she going with this?  Is she trying to be sexy?  She’s not…

Is she trying to get attention?  That she is, and it won’t always be the attention she wants…but then again, negative attention is still attention (just ask my 4 yr old!)

What it comes down to is this…she is young and wants to morph into a more adult demographic.  Understandable..you can’t sing to the tweens forever, eventually you want to sing more adult-ish songs.  Does she need to be half-naked to do this?  Apparently, she does.  She wouldn’t have gotten anywhere near this much attention if she had worn something more conservative, would she? 

Girls are being brought up in a day and age in which dressing this way is normal and expected…just look at Britney Spears…and look where it landed her. 

Be careful, Miley, you are more than your image, and many, many (very) young girls are looking to you for the way they should act and dress. 

it makes me very sad to say the least…..

One Response to “Shame on you, Miley Cyrus”

  1. joz1234 said

    Pole dancing, huh? Yikes! Yes, a 16 year old should not be wearing shorts that are that short. I’ll admit though that when I was 16, I might have worn them if I had them, but my mom probably would have nixed that. It’s sad that sex seems to be the only thing that sells…and that these teens are exploited just to sell them. I’m thinking one can leave a little more to the imagination though.

Leave a Reply

 
