Just another stay at home mom's Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Why go to church??

Posted by justanotherstayathomemom on August 25, 2009

So, I received this email a few days ago, and thought I would post it here.  Warning…MAJOR rant to follow..

Why go to Church?

       If you’re spiritually alive, you’re going to love this! If
you’re spiritually dead, you won’t want to read it.  If you’re
spiritually curious, there is still hope!

       Why Go To Church?

       A Church goer wrote a letter to the editor of a newspaper and
complained that it made no sense to go to church every Sunday. “I’ve
gone for 30 years now,” he wrote, “and in that time I have heard
something like 3,000 sermons. But for the life of me, I can’t remember a
single one of them. So, I think I’m wasting my time and the pastors are
wasting theirs by giving sermons at all.”

       This started a real controversy in the “Letters to the Editor”
column, much to the delight of the editor. It went on for weeks until
someone wrote this clincher:

       “I’ve been married for 30 years now. In that time my wife has
cooked some 32,000 meals. But, for the life of me, I cannot recall the
entire menu for a single one of those meals But I do know this.. They
all nourished me and gave me the strength I needed to do my work. If my
wife had not given me these meals, I would be physically dead today.
Likewise, if I had not gone to church for nourishment, I would be
spiritually dead today!” When you are DOWN to nothing…. God is UP to
something! Faith sees the invisible, believes the incredible and
receives the impossible! Thank God for our physical AND our spiritual
nourishment!

Ugh!  Where to start?  So much of this email pisses me off, I don’t know where to begin. 

A man (we will assume this is a true story) writes a letter saying, basically, he has learned nothing in church.  The reply that is highlighted makes note of food, and how it nourishes you even though you don’t remember the actual meal itself…blah blah.

Is anyone listening?  Hello?  The OP said he didn’t remember any of the sermons, which means, we can only guess, that he also doesn’t know the Bible or Yeshua.  (Stay with me..I plan on rambling a bit)  The major problem with church is that they are teaching UNtruth as truth.  Think I’m wrong?  Have you ever been to church?  Most of the sermons ARE forgetable!  Really!  I mean, how often have you come out of a service and talked about what the preacher just preached on?  My hubby and I rarely have because so much of it is the same old bullshit. 

The last time I went to church was earlier this year on easter (y’know, ishtar, named after the pagan fertility god? they don’t talk about that in church, do they?) So anyway, the guest pastor was going on about how he had taken his twin daughters to an easter egg hunt and how a helicopter dropped all the easter eggs in the middle of a big field and how all the littles went crazy running for eggs and it was cold and his girls were in matching dresses and…..

15 minutes later he started in on the message for the day.  Not once did he talk about the resurrection, the sacrifice, the pain, the horror, the betrayal and the hope that time is supposed to represent.  He glossed over that part, in like about 45 seconds, and went on to something else that I don’t remember.  I was so dissapointed and heartbroken, I decided there was no point in going back to that church, ever! 

I TOTALLY understand the man who will be skipping church from now on…and I agree with him.  You know, that day, I don’t even think we opened our Bibles?  I can’t remember what scripture he quoted, although in that church it was probably one of the usual oft used ones, like John 3:16. 

I am tired of preachers preaching instead of teaching!  I mean, let’s face it…it’s alot of nonsense wrapped up in a pretty bow with a joke at the beginning and a “be sure to bring you friends next week” at the end.  I didn’t bring any friends because there wasn’t that much to hear…not really. 

That church has a big “campus” at one end of town and a little “campus” at the other end of town, an hour away.  I went to the little one.  The senior pastor, when he was there, was really good, and he said alot of things that got me thinking…but, as time went on and our membership didn’t grow very fast, we started having more and more guest pastors and others who would preach in place of the lead guy.  So it was no surprise the lead guy was at the big campus..I mean it’s an important day…we gotta impress the “twice a year churchgoers so that they will come back and bring their friends” y’know! 

After service was over, they had an advertisement for the next “series”, an informercial of sorts, complete with graphics and music and images…it was very impressive, and very sad. 

This is what our churches now have to stoop to to get the sheeple in to warm the benches.  Because that is all I was, a benchwarmer. 

Church has now been transformed into a social hour instead of a place to learn the Word of Yahweh.  (yep, God’s real name is Yahweh…betcha never learnt that in church, didja?)

It all boils down to that fact that church is lukewarm…we are not being fed, we are being amused, and some “God-isms” are injected along the way to make it seem more Christian.  (now, don’t get your panties in a bunch…not ALL churches and not ALL pastors are like this…I do think the majority ARE like this..I mean just look at society as a whole..we ARE lost as a nation, no doubt)

 What we don’t get from the OP is what does he know of Yahweh?  What does he know of  His Son, Yeshua?  

This is the real point of the letter…this man is crying out, telling us, it seems, that he has learned nothing in 30 years of church going….How many of us are just like this man?  We get up on Sunday morning, eat our cinnamon rolls, put on a dress or slacks, and go to church.  Does your pastor inspire you?  Do you think about what he said as you go about your week?  Do you even read your Bible during the week?  (now that is a novel concept, isn’t it?  to actually READ the Word yourself?)  The church has fallen asleep, for the most part, and we have fallen asleep too.  What I wonder is, is this man going to now read the Bible for himself and learn about Yahweh and Yeshua? Or is he just using this as an excuse to sleep in on Sunday?

And where, exactly, does it say we even HAVE to go to church?  I know it says where two or more are gathered in My name there I will be, but it doesn’t say we have to meet once a week in an airconditioned building singing songs and praying rote prayers and wearing our high heels, now does it?  I realize I’m being cheeky, but let’s face it, it’s what is happening all across the land on Sunday.  (oh, and you know we are supposed to remember the sabbath, and keep it holy?  yeah, one of the 10 commandements?  well, the sabbath is Saturday, not Sunday….betcha they don’t talk about that in your church niether, do they?  they didn’t in mine…)

My eyes have recently been opened since I started digging deeper.  I am not great at it, but the Bible is becoming easier to read and put into use.  I am teaching my son scripture so that it will be a part of his life and not just a part of his Sunday.   I don’t want Yahweh to just be a once a week thing, ya know? 

Anyway, back to the email…the “clincher” reply is from a man who makes a comparison to food for the body and how he doesn’t remember his wifes meals and such….this is a poor comparison, at best.  I bet he remembers the meals he DIDN’T like!  I bet she doesn’t make those anymore!  The OP doesn’t have this luxury at his church…he can complain to the pastor, but the pastor has to keep the flock happy, and pushing sheeple to think diffrently is hard when it comes to religion.  I mean, as long as I’m saved, right, why should I follow Levitical law?  I mean, I’m saved, now I can eat and drink and be merry and go to church and that’s good enough, isn’t it???  I don’t have to do anything else, right? 

It’s not good enough.  Once you know the basics, you HAVE to go farther and deeper.  You cannot be stagnant when it comes to your faith and what you believe.  You, not your pastor, have to walk through life knowing what you will compromise on and what you won’t…what you will watch and what you won’t…what you will feed you kids and what you won’t….I think the second guy doesn’t understand the first guy at all, and probably many of the readers don’t understand his frustration in learning little over the years. 

Of course, maybe he just wanted to stir up the hornet’s nest for no other reason than to stir it up…

I, myself, do plan on going back to church…I want to know if any around me are teaching more than just doctrine, or if they are teaching Truth.  Mostly out of curiosity, and also because I want to challenge myself to look up the scriptures and see if they connect with what the pastor is teaching…to see if the teaching is a plate full of meat, or a glass of milk.

cheers…(and thank you for reading this)

One Response to “Why go to church??”

  1. joz1234 said

    WOW! That’s so thought provoking. I don’t have an opinion nearly as thought out as you…so I will not comment on the articles. I learn more about you on here than I ever would talking to you. 😀

Leave a Reply

 
